home
The Store
Events
News
Contact


Tuesday, May 29
6:00 p.m.
Mind-Body-Spirit Book Club

Our newest book club! Join this discussion of books that focus on the mind, body and spirit as art of an individual’s well-being. Authors will include Deepak Chopra, Elizabeth Gilbert, Joyce Ru and others. The club will explore the author’s ideas and how they can incorporate some practical applications into our everyday lives to encourage balance and joy.


Selection this month: Black Elk Speaks by John Neihardt





Saturday, June 2
2:00 p.m.
Meet the Author: B.C. Hatch
Beyond Pretty


Beyond Pretty goes through each letter in the alphabet pairing pretty with empowering words for girls. A is for pretty Ambitious; Girls who work hard to succeed. B is for pretty Brave; girls who don't back down, even when they're afraid. As it continues through the alphabet, it reminds us that girls go beyond beauty. Each word highlights a trait positively while continuing on in a fun rhyme scheme to keep young readers engaged.




B.C. Hatch began modeling after competing on cycle 8 of America's Next Top Model. Following the show she found work with some of the top agencies including New York Models (NY), Beatrice (Milan), and Cover (Paris) before leaving her modeling career behind to explore other creative fields. After having her daughter in October of 2016 Hatch, already familiar with the beauty expectations placed on women and girls, felt that it was important to encourage her daughter (and other girls) to embrace who they are rather than how they look. With this mission, Hatch, a former contributor to FLATT magazine and a published poet, decided to venture into the arena of children's literature, writing her debut book Beyond Pretty.




Tuesday, June 5
7:00 pm
Beaverdale Writers' Group


Join this group of lively area writers started by local author Jerry Hooten. Not a critique group; discussion centers around the publishing process and marketing your work once it's published. And there is wine.






Friday, June 8
6:30 p.m.
Meet the Author: T.K. Ambers
Runway Dreams: A Black & White Affair


Runway Dreams: A Black & White Affair is a tale of love, deceit, and the moral struggles that Bernadette Price, a young Oklahoma model, endures in order to break free from her abusive marriage and reclaim her identity.



T.K. Ambers was born and raised in Eau Claire, Wisconsin, but enjoys spending time in Des Moines with her extended family and friends. Her passion for writing covers everything from novels to poetry to blogs. She has a strong love for travel and runs the site: www.starspiritadventures.com, which focuses on travel reviews and living life to its fullest. When she is not at her computer writing she can be found enjoying her free time with family and friends, listening to music, reading, and photographing her adventures. She believes that life is short and every day is its own adventure and should be treated as such.




Tuesday, June 12
7:00 p.m.
Hunter’s Picks Book Club

The Hunter’s Picks Book Club takes its inspiration from Paul’s Book Club at Prairie Lights in Iowa City, which Hunter attended while in college. This book club will read primarily literary fiction. The quirk of this book group, like that of Paul’s, is that Hunter will be the one choosing all book club selections. Suggestions are welcome, but Hunter will have final say. He’s such a control freak that way.


Selection this month: The Story of My Teeth by Valeria Luiselli





Friday, June 15
6:30 p.m.
Poetry Reading: Dometa Wiegand Brothers
Cold Songs

A poetry collection on the harsh and beautiful northern Midwestern environment and the sturdily pragmatic, yet bizarrely idealistic people, it produces. However, it is not only this. Cold Songs is about the permeability of the human soul how we bleed into the world and other people and how the environment and the divine and other humans seep into us. Mysticism starts in our recognition of the world around us. It’s in the moonlight, the songbird, and the black river; it’s in the mathematics of petals, orbits, and tree branches. This way of experiencing ourselves in the universe is about far more than anthropomorphizing or idolizing the landscape. There is a simultaneous struggle both to connect and individuate in the hearts and minds of humanity. A longing for that power and a great fear and respect, as well.


“The northern Midwest is less of a stage and more of a character in this excellent debut collection. In the tradition of Annie Dillard, Mary Oliver, and Peter Matthiessen, Brothers encounters nature as a mirror, a window, a door, a conduit to a better understanding of ourselves. At one point, the subject of a poem lies in the grass of a deer’s bed, and your mind will be similarly impressed with the wild, organic power of these poems.” —Ben Percy, author of The Dead Lands, Red Moon, The Wilding and Refresh, Refresh.

Dometa Wiegand Brothers is a native of the north woods of Wisconsin. She holds a BA and an MSTE from the University of Wisconsin Stevens Point and a PhD from Washington State University. She has taught at universities in Wisconsin, Washington, Idaho, Alabama, and Iowa. She is the author of the scholarly monograph On All Sides Infinity, as well as numerous articles and book chapters. Her poetry has also been anthologized in Prairie Gold: An Anthology of the American Heartland. Dometa Wiegand Brothers currently lives and writes in central Iowa.




Monday, June 18
6:00 p.m.
Urbandale UCC Book Club

The Urbandale United Church of Christ Book Club is now meeting at Beaverdale Books! Membership is open to anyone, so if you like good books and a good discussion, this could be your book club!


Selection this month: A House Among the Trees by Julia Glass





Wednesday, June 20
6:30 p.m.
Book Launch: Cindy Chambers Johnson
Russell Wrestles the Relatives

Everyone loves family reunions. Well everyone except Russell, whose family of big, brawny, and boisterous wrestlers has him on the run in this vibrant celebration of what it means to be a family.

When the Relatives Came meets Wrestlemania in debut author Cindy Chambers Johnson’s rollicking picture book about a family reunion with a most colorful cast of characters—from Lorry and Tory (the Twin Tornadoes) to Cousin Cora “The Cleaner” to Uncle “el monstruo” Marcoy.

Family reunions mean lots of hugging, handshaking, and hair tousling. And Russell’s relatives? Well, they are more…enthusiastic than most. BIGGER than most. BRAWNIER than most. They’re wrestlers! Skinny and scrawny Russell will have to meet, greet, and defeat this clan with some spectacular moves of his own!



Cindy Chambers Johnson grew up in Hutchinson, Kansas, where she received her fair share of Kansas Crusher hugs and visits from far-flung relatives. (None of whom wrestled for a living—thank goodness.) Cindy’s interest in family ties and inherited traits led her to a career as a genetic counselor, but a love of reading and writing passed down from her mother led to her career as an author. Cindy now lives with her husband and two children in Des Moines, Iowa, and only administers the Texas Tickle Hold when absolutely necessary.





Tuesday, June 26
7:00 p.m.
Mystery Book Club

Come join this group that has been meeting for over 20 years! New members always welcome; all you need is a love of mysteries and a burning desire to talk about them with a fun group of folks!


Selection this month: Billy Boyle by James R. Benn





FacebookTwitter